Khamsa: The 5 Stages of Grief

Khamsa is a visual and musical journey through the five stages of grief, encouraging the audience to explore different aspects of trauma’s universality.

A collaborative creation led by Muslim artist, community organizer and activist Guled Muse in partnership with ARTogether and Gathering All Muslim Artists (GAMA), Khamsa will be a multimedia installation addressing the different stages of the grieving process: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Collaborating artists include musicians and visual artists of color from across the United States. 

Drawing from the Arabic word for “5,” Khamsa will strive to find the harmony in humanity’s shared stories, and bridge differences of culture, belief and history. Our vision is to spark new narratives around grief and trauma, using varied media and disciplines to present new perspectives on mental health.

The Khamsa exhibition is scheduled to run from September 2 – October 15, 2022 at Aggregate Space Gallery in Oakland.

The opening reception will be held on Friday, September 2, 2022 from 6-9 pm, and the first Friday performance will be held on October 7, 2022. 

The following artist talk will be held Saturday, October 8, 2022 from 11am to 12:30pm and the Mental Health Talk and Podcast will be held Saturday or Sunday, September 24 or 25.  The closing reception will be October 15, 2022 from 6-9pm.

This video was created by Meriam Salem. Follow them on Instagram

Guled Muse // Khamsa Lead Artist

Guled Muse is a music producer and community organizer. His work includes community leadership in the Mission District of San Francisco and in Oakland, which includes movements around issues such as gentrification, promotion of the arts and diversity. He has founded and coordinated events including ‘Skate with Beats’ and ‘Not 4 Sale’, which highlighted the essence of Bay Area energy by promoting female, Latina DJs. Originally from Somalia, Guled moved to the US at the age of ten, and has lived in the Bay Area for over 20 years. 

Abbas Mohamed // Khamsa Art Director and Producer

Abbas Mohamed is poet, cultural producer, and the Executive Director of GAMA: Gathering All Muslim Artists, an organization he co-founded in 2016 to support and empower artists in the global Muslim community. Through GAMA, he has overseen close to 100 art-centered community events in the Bay Area, New York, and Detroit, as well as leading an artist retreat in Hawaii for 10 GAMA artists. He is also the creative director of Halalfest, Inc, co-hosts The Artistic Foodies podcast and has recently seen his work published in “A Kaleidoscope of Stories”, an anthology of Muslim Poets in the English language.


Khamsa Collaborating Artists



Fahd Butt


Bryan C. Simmons

Sukina Noor


Gavin Grant

Nabi Haider Ali

Gazelle Samizay

Nu Nasa

Keyvan Shovir

D. Lee

Romina Zabihian

Amir the Photographer

Spote Breeze


Mani Draper

Shaghayegh Cyrous

Sponsorship opportunities are available. Please reach out to Michelle at with your questions. 

This project is made possible with support from the Doris Duke Foundation for Islamic Art, the GAMA Collective, and Aggregate Space Gallery.